Ads 468x60px

Get Social with 'Reel Talk'

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

The 2013 Independent Spirit Awards Go Hard for Beasts, Moonrise and Silver Linings

The tribe has spoken and it looks like Film Independent went hard for the dramas Beasts of the Southern Wild, Middle of Nowhere, Moonrise Kingdom and The Silver Linings Playbook, which all earned multiple Independent Spirit Award nominations today.

There's not a whole lot of comedies that received recognition, except the underrated dramedy, of sorts, Celeste and Jesse Forever, which scored a screenplay nod for writers Rashida Jones and Will McCormack, who also starred in the movie.

Somewhat surprisingly, Matt McConnaughey was a dual nominee for his independent turns in Magic Mike (did anyone else think that wasn't an independent movie??) and the dark drama, Killer Joe. His Lincoln Lawyer co-star Michael Peña also received his first career Independent Spirit Award for End of Watch.

Two other movies that crept under the radar, but deserved a whole lot more praise was Sound of My Voice and Compliance. Both off kilter dramas were both risky and captivating at once, even though they each have a single nod (Sound--best first feature and Compliance--lead actress, Ann Dowd).

And three wildly overrated movies that received praise are Moonrise Kingdom, The Sessions and Safety Not Guaranteed. For a full review of The Sessions, click here.

Check out the full nominee list to follow:


Beasts of the Southern Wild
Keep the Lights On
Moonrise Kingdom
Silver Linings Playbook


Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom
Julia Loktev, The Loneliest Planet
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On
Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild


Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola, Moonrise Kingdom
Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh, Seven Psychopaths
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)

Fill the Void
Gimme the Loot
Safety Not Guaranteed
Sound of My Voice
The Perks of Being a Wallflower


Rama Burshtein, Fill the Void
Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed
Christopher Ford, Robot & Frank
Rashida Jones & Will McCormack, Celeste and Jesse Forever
Jonathan Lisecki, Gayby


Breakfast with Curtis, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Laura Colella
Middle of Nowhere, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Ava DuVernay, PRODUCERS: Howard Barish, Paul Garnes,
Mosquita y Mari, WRITER/DIRECTOR: Aurora Guerrero, PRODUCER: Chad Burris
Starlet, WRITER/DIRECTOR: Sean Baker, PRODUCERS: Blake Ashman-Kipervaser, Kevin Chinoy, Patrick Cunningham, Chris Maybach, Francesca Silvestri
The Color Wheel, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Alex Ross Perry, WRITER: Carlen Altman


Linda Cardellini, Return
Emayatzy Corinealdi, Middle of Nowhere
Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Smashed


Jack Black, Bernie
Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
John Hawkes, The Sessions
Thure Lindhardt, Keep the Lights On
Matthew McConaughey, Killer Joe
Wendell Pierce, Four


Rosemarie DeWitt, Your Sister’s Sister
Ann Dowd, Compliance
Helen Hunt, The Sessions
Brit Marling, Sound of My Voice
Lorraine Toussaint, Middle of Nowhere


Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike
David Oyelowo, Middle of Nowhere

Michael Peña, End of Watch
Sam Rockwell, Seven Psychopaths
Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom


Yoni Brook, Valley of Saints
Lol Crawley, Here
Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Roman Vasyanov, End of Watch
Robert Yeoman, Moonrise Kingdom

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)

How to Survive a Plague
DIRECTOR: David France
PRODUCERS: David France, Howard Gertler

Marina Abramoviæ: The Artist is Present
DIRECTOR: Matthew Akers
PRODUCERS: Maro Chermayeff, Jeff Dupre

The Central Park Five
DIRECTORS/PRODUCERS: Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon

The Invisible War
DIRECTOR: Kirby Dick
PRODUCERS: Tanner King Barklow, Amy Ziering

The Waiting Room
PRODUCERS: Linda Davis, William B. Hirsch

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)

Once Upon A Time in Anatolia
Rust And Bone
War Witch

16th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 16th annual Piaget Producers
Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources
demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce
quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted
grant funded by Piaget.

Nobody Walks PRODUCER: Alicia Van Couvering
Prince Avalanche, PRODUCER: Derrick Tseng
Stones in the Sun, PRODUCER: Mynette Louie

19th ANNUAL SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 19th annual Someone to Watch
Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet
received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000
unrestricted grant.

Pincus, DIRECTOR: David Fenster
Gimme the Loot, DIRECTOR: Adam Leon
Electrick Children, DIRECTOR: Rebecca Thomas

Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features
who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a
$25,000 unrestricted grant.

DIRECTOR: Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel
The Waiting Room, DIRECTOR: Peter Nicks
Only the Young, DIRECTOR: Jason Tippet & Elizabeth Mims

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and
its ensemble cast)
Starlet, Director: Sean Baker

Sound off below. What do you think of this year's nominees? The Independent Spirit Awards will air on IFC on February 23, 2013. 


Dankwa Brooks said...

I wouldn't call it snubs, but sad to not see several people on the list on nominations
DREAMA WALKER who I thought did ALL the heavy lifting in ‘Compliance’. Yes ANN DOWD was great, but to me Walker had the most arduous of acting jobs to get us to believe the whole story in the first place.

OMARI HARDWICK seems to be constantly left out of the nominees for ‘Middle of Nowhere’. I really liked his strong, subtle performance and I think it's his best work onscreen.

I agree with you Candice, ‘Magic Mike’ SCREAMS studio picture. I mean the marketing almost got me to see it to see what the fuss was about.

Finally absolutely congratulations to MICHAEL PEÑA for nomination for ‘End of Watch’. An excellent picture that got NO love especially from me at first until I start reading about how good it was and IT IS. Peña has been so good for so long in so many pictures, I hope this role gets him more acclaim.

Post a Comment

Share This Post
Blogger Templates